The Perfect Lip Balm

There are items I’m constantly on the hunt for…the best foundation, the best mascara, the best concealer…you know the drill. Well this past week I think I’ve found the best lip balm. It’s the Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm that people have been raving about since Sephora began carrying the brand a few years ago. I’m not sure why I haven’t tried it until now, but Sephora’s recent VIB 15% off sale might have been my push.

I picked up the tiny blue tube for around $7.00 after the discount, which still isn’t cheap for a lip balm compared to say a Carmex pot for under $1.00. But well worth it. It has an SPF of 25 and comes with 7 grams of product. The balm is emollient and feels very smooth on the lips. It really sinks in, leaving your lips feeling comfortable and hydrated. Some other balms I’ve tried including Carmex, Aquaphor, Sally Hansen, Blistex and EOS all seem to just sit on top of the lips until eventually rubbing off. The Jack Black balm keeps your lips feeling silky smooth all day long with minimal re-application. I put it on at night and in the morning my lips still feel soft and supple.

The balm comes in a variety of scents including: Lemon & Chamomile, Natural Mint & Shea Butter, Black Tea & Blackberry, Grapefruit & Ginger and the one I purchased which is Vanilla & Lavender. The scent is just ok; I’d prefer just vanilla but it wonder hinder my decision to repurchase this. There are two new scents making their debut soon: Mango & Mandarin as well as Shea Butter & Vitamin E. I’d be interested in trying the latter. While each balm is scented, there is no detectable taste.

Jack Black is known as a skin care line geared towards men, and my boyfriend happens to love the Double Duty Face Moisturizer. The line is also known, however, for its simplicity and natural ingredients which is why it appeals to men and women alike. I’ve so far only tried the Vanilla & Lavender Lip Balm, but if that’s any indication of the rest of the brand then sign me up.

Each balm sells for $7.50 and you can find them at both your local Ulta and Sephora stores.

Go get yourself some lip therapy.

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Lip Balm

    • I definitely recommend the Jack Black balm! Well worth the price. I haven’t tried the Sugar lip scrub…but I’ve tried Lush’s Bon Bon and love it. Review soon! Thanks so much for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

