Product Fail: Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam

When I saw promotional photos for Maybelline’s new Dream Nude Airfoam foundation I couldn’t wait to try it. Many companies are jumping on the bandwagon of air brushed looking makeup, with Maybelline and Revlon leading the pack.

I’m usually a big fan of Maybelline foundation, as the color range is usually a good match for my skin tone. I’m always the lightest shade offered in almost any foundation, and this one was no exception. I picked up the Dream Nude Airfoam in 110 Porcelain Ivory (I’m the same shade in Maybelline’s Dream Liquid Mousse which I love). I wish I could tell you that I loved this foundation because positive reviews are much more fun…but no fun here.

This product was a major disappointment for me. As far as pigmentation and coverage, this foundation offers neither. The product dispenses rather quickly out of the aerosol can, which needs a good shake before application. It comes out just like the name implies, a foam. When applied to the skin, it blends out into almost nothing. I was left with a very dry feeling which was the only indication that there was anything on my face. The foundation is oil-free, and from what I remember there was no detectable fragrance. The product has since been returned, to give you an idea of how much I didn’t care for it.

Revlon’s version, PhotoReady Airbrush Mousse Makeup is much better in terms of coverage. It dispenses out of the can the same way…so you can’t really control how much product you’re getting. I found that one pump can cover your whole face and then some so it’s a bit wasteful. I recommend pumping the foundation onto the back of your hand and then applying it with a stippling brush to pat it into your skin. It blends relatively easily and my color match was good, but I was still left with a very dry feeling. For reference my skin is relatively normal, slightly more dry this time of year.

All in all I do think the concept of airfoam makeup is an interesting one, and if the formulas can be improved I can see them being great sellers. For now, though, I’d stick with liquid, cream, or mineral powders of your choice.

2 thoughts on “Product Fail: Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam

Leave a Reply

