Fairy Lights vs. Pink Satin

In December I received what has turned out to be one of my favorite nail polishes, Butter London’s Fairy Lights. The color is so unique and unlike anything else I’ve seen…until now.

It’s a metallic baby pink that applies like a dream. Butter London nail polish is known for its broad color selection, smooth application and cheeky names. They put one out around the time that Prince William proposed to Kate Middleton and called it “No More Waity, Katie.” Cute.

I digress. The point of today’s post is to tell you about an inexpensive alternative to Fairy Lights if you don’t feel like shelling out $14 on nail polish, which is completely understandable. I was browsing the cosmetics section of my local Bed Bath and Beyond and happened upon a Sally Hansen nail polish that looked strikingly familiar.

The color is #425 Pink Satin, and is a dead on dupe for Fairy Lights. The color is the same, it goes on the nail the same, the finish is the same…the only detectable difference is the price tag. Where Butter London polish will cost you $14, the Sally Hansen version runs around $3-$4 depending where you purchase it. To sweeten the deal even more, there are usually manufacturers coupons as well as coupons from Bed Bath and Beyond. I got Pink Satin for a total of $2.30 after such coupons. Both polishes are 0.4 fluid oz. Time will tell in terms of wear and staying power, but at $2.30 Sally Hansen can’t be beat.

I’ve only seen this color at Bed Bath and Beyond so far, but I haven’t been on the lookout for it elsewhere. Butter London polish can be found at Ulta, Nordstrom or butterlondon.com. Sally Hansen is available at most drugstores as well as Target and the like.

In the photo below I alternated the colors on each nail. Sally Hansen’s Pink Satin is on my index and ring finger, while Butter London’s Fairy Lights is on my middle finger and pinky. There is no top or base coat applied as I wanted just the effect of the polishes themselves. What do you think?

Can you tell which color is on which nail?

Leave a Reply

